Home Help Administrator & Educator Help Articles Manage Training Plans

Manage Training Plans

Training plans can be used to assign several courses to your employees at once. To access training plans, click on “Manage Training Plans” in the left-hand navigation.

From the training plans page, you can view your existing training plans or create a new one. Click “New Training Plan” to create a new one.

Creating a New Training Plan

There are 3 steps that must be followed to create a training plan: 1) Add training plan information, 2) update courses, and 3) update students.

Step 1—Add Training Plan Information

Adding training plan information

Fill in the required information. Note that the start date must be in the future. The due date can be as far out as you would like. You also have the ability, using the toggles, to send notifications and emails to your staff or to leave them off. You can also decide if you want to disallow completions that may have taken place prior to the start date of your training plan by switching the “Enrollments” toggle to “on.” When you are ready to proceed, click “Save.”

Step 2—Add Courses

The next step is to add courses to your training plan. The courses available to the training plan are displayed based on the course kind you selected in the first step. You can filter the courses to display by license level (Advanced, Basic, and Combined). You can add courses from our platform or your own in-house courses. To add a course, click the “+” button.

As you add courses to your training plans, you can set different start dates for each course. At each start date for a course, your employees will receive a notification and email, if you enabled that option, informing them of the start date. When ready, click “Close” to proceed.

Step 3—Add Users

The next step is to add the individual users to whom you would like to assign the training plan. You can assign an individual or use the filters to narrow the list based on employee information, such as expiration dates, license levels, etc. You can add members one at a time, or all at once using the “+” buttons. When you are finished, click “Close” to proceed.

After adding users, all of the checkboxes for your training plan will be green. To activate the plan, click the “Activate” button at the top.

Settings and courses can be changed to a training plan up until it is activated, or in progress.

Adding/Removing Users from a Training Plan

After a plan is activated, you can still add and remove students.

Open the training plan, then click on “Update” located on the right above the student section.

You can find specific users by using the various filters.

Add or remove users by clicking on the green plus (+) or red minus (-) feature next to the user name. Once your list is complete, click on “Close” at the top of the screen.

You will need to notify users added to the training plan about the plan name and due date.

Deactivating a Training Plan

An in-progress training plan can be deactivated even after its start date. Deactivating a plan removes it from the assigned users’ view even after the start date. A deactivated plan can either be reactivated later or left deactivated and a new training plan created.
Once a training plan has expired (the end date has already passed), you can continue to go to the training plan summary page to review the configuration or run reports on that training plan.

Reporting on Training Plans

An EMS leader editing a training plan

You can filter the training plans on your list using the filters at the top of the page.

Fire leader creating training plan report

To get a report on the training plan, or to check the status of your employees in the plan, choose which report you want to run: Progress Report or Enrollment Status Report. The Progress Report will allow you to see who is less than 100% complete and who is 100% complete, as well as who has not started the training plan. The Enrollment Status Report will give you a more detailed view of each user and their status for each course in your training plan.

Your employees must still enroll in courses inside of the training plan. For an explanation of how your employees will see that plan, see our Training Plan Guide for Users.